A Daily Network publication
Explore the network
Private Real Estate Daily
Independent Intelligence on Private Real Estate Capital
Thursday, October 8, 2026The Morning Brief →Sign in
Deals

San Manuel pays $241.4 million for Fairmont Scottsdale Princess hotel portion

Records put the hotel portion at $322,000 per key; the resort-wide price was not disclosed.

At a glance

25-second brief
  • Records put the hotel portion at $322,000 per key; the resort-wide price was not disclosed.

  • The San Manuel Investment Authority bought the Fairmont Scottsdale Princess, and records put $241.4 million on the hotel portion.

  • The Scottsdale deal is the San Manuel Investment Authority's first acquisition in Arizona, adding to holdings in California, Virginia and Washington, D.C. The authority is the investment arm of the Yuhaaviatam of San Manuel Nation, and it has increasingly bought luxury properties without casino or gaming components.

The San Manuel Investment Authority bought the Fairmont Scottsdale Princess, and records put $241.4 million on the hotel portion. The recorded amount covers 750 keys with furniture, fixtures and equipment, plus a surface parking lot and a parking garage — about $322,000 per key. The Real Deal reported the Scottsdale purchase on Oct. 8, citing the Phoenix Business Journal, and said the price for the resort as a whole was not revealed.

This publication's Oct. 7 report on the sale, based on Connect CRE coverage, described the resort changing hands without a price or seller disclosed. Most of the resort sits on land owned by the City of Scottsdale, which suggests the buyer paid for hotel improvements and parking rather than the ground beneath most of the property. No ground-lease terms were disclosed.

A first Arizona purchase for the tribe's investment arm

The Scottsdale deal is the San Manuel Investment Authority's first acquisition in Arizona, adding to holdings in California, Virginia and Washington, D.C. The authority is the investment arm of the Yuhaaviatam of San Manuel Nation, and it has increasingly bought luxury properties without casino or gaming components. Earlier this year it bought the 238-room Mission Inn Hotel & Spa in downtown Riverside.

The resort has six pools, five restaurants, eight retail stores, 316,000 square feet of meeting space, a 44,000-square-foot Well & Being Spa and, per the coverage, the only Sisley Spa in Arizona.

Continue your research

Save this analysis and keep the funds you follow together in My Desk.

Sign in to save articles or follow funds.
Sources & further reading
The Real Deal — National · Phoenix Business Journal (via The Real Deal) · Connect CRE (via PRED archive, 2026-10-07)
More from Private Real Estate Daily
Deals

Andover and Heitman form self-storage JVs with more than 106 properties

The firms say the ventures span value-add and core-plus strategies and that they expect the portfolio to expand across US markets.
Deals

DivcoWest, Jemal plan DC office-to-apartment conversion with $40m loan

Madison Realty Capital's loan covers acquisition and predevelopment on a 342,000-square-foot West End building slated for about 323 units.
The Wrap

Hines Global Income Trust pays $170.5M for Dallas portfolio as US apartment rents rise 0.7% annually

The Bishop Arts apartments are 95% leased and the retail is 98% leased across 22 tenants; Yardi puts September advertised rent at $1,775, down 0.1% from August.
Elsewhere in the networkAll titles →
Every weekday · 6:30 a.m. ET

The Morning Brief

The latest from Private Real Estate Daily, in your inbox every weekday. Free.