A Daily Network publication
Explore the network
Private Real Estate Daily
Independent Intelligence on Private Real Estate Capital
Friday, October 2, 2026The Morning Brief →Sign in
RE Debt

JPI closes land and construction financing for 248-home Dallas income-restricted project

The Torrington Forest development will use 4 percent Low-Income Housing Tax Credits and a ground lease from a City of Dallas housing affiliate; the lender is not named.

The land and construction loan closed together, and work on JPI's Torrington Forest begins this month: 248 homes on nearly 17 acres at 7100 S. Great Trinity Forest Way in southern Dallas, with completion anticipated in mid-2028. Of the total, 222 homes are restricted to households earning up to 60 percent of area median income and 13 to households earning up to 70 percent, a tally that accounts for 235 of the 248 homes; the restrictions on the remaining 13 are not stated.

The equity side runs through 4 percent Low-Income Housing Tax Credits administered by the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs. The land side is public: an affiliate of the City of Dallas Housing Finance Corporation ground-leases the site to the development partnership under a long-term agreement, and the HFC serves as that partnership's general partner.

222 of 248 Torrington Forest homes reserved at 60% AMI
Homes by income restriction, southern Dallas
Up to 60Up to 70Restrict
CONNECT CRE · TEXAS DEPT. OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY AFFAIRS

A city housing finance corporation as landlord and general partner

That dual role is heavier than a pass-through subsidy; it shapes what a construction lender is actually pricing. Compliance with the credit program and the restricted rents that follow from it are the visible pieces. Beneath them sits a counterparty at the top of the structure, above the partnership rather than beside it, and because the site is ground-leased, the construction loan's collateral runs to a leasehold interest rather than the fee unless the documents provide otherwise—a point the report does not address. The report also does not name the lender, the loan amount, the term, or the leverage. The financing closed anyway; construction debt was available for an income-restricted Dallas deal with a 2028 delivery, but the terms that would let a credit desk price it are missing.

Delivery lands in mid-2028, inside the 2028-29 window this publication has argued patient apartment capital is already underwriting. The comparison has limits: income-restricted stock financed with tax credits does not clear on market rent growth the way market-rate product does. Restricted rents and credit pricing set the revenue line, and the compliance calendar sets the risk, so Torrington Forest takes the calendar of the supply-gap trade without taking its economics, with the land and the credit allocation doing work that rent growth does elsewhere.

The four-story building will include a fitness center, a swimming pool, a community room, and a business center, and 6.3 acres of the site are preserved as open space through a conservation easement. Whether the same lender carried both the land and the construction pieces is not stated.

Continue your research

Save this analysis and keep the funds you follow together in My Desk.

Sign in to save articles or follow funds.
Sources & further reading
Connect CRE
More from Private Real Estate Daily
RE Debt

Trepp CMBS delinquency rate rises 17 basis points to 8.02% in September

Five large single-asset loans, four of them office or studio-and-office, drove much of the increase, pushing the rate to its highest since November 2020.
The Wrap

PCCP and life insurers close refinancings as the 10-year Treasury hits 5.3%

A $68.3 million loan on a half-leased Mesa warehouse and a five-year life-company loan on Charlotte office point to patient capital absorbing risk rather than forced sales.
Capital

Edens closes $850 million for retail; Declaration registers third real estate fund

One is a completed commitment for retail acquisitions and development; the other is a registration with no strategy disclosed and no dollars sold.
Elsewhere in the networkAll titles →
Every weekday · 6:30 a.m. ET

The Morning Brief

The latest from Private Real Estate Daily, in your inbox every weekday. Free.